Slice(s) of Life

Life Pie

Every once in a while, I like to check in with myself and reflect on how things are going in various aspects of life. One of my favourite check-ins is a pie chart based on the one from Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way (57). Her pie only has 6 slices. I extend that and do one with 8. Then I reflect on my strengths and weaknesses in each area. It can help me then make some goals for the coming months.

Family/children: Score 7
Strengths:
-J and I are both on the same page re: family being a priority which makes us a good team together.
-Our kids are fabulous.
Weaknesses:
-I need to figure out new strategies to help C through this terrible 2s/pushing phase.
-I need to figure out how to get Q to sleep through the night.

Romance/adventure: Score 3
Strengths:
-J and I both work to show each other we are a priority.  J especially makes  an effort lately.
-We work on our problems and try to fight/discuss respectfully.
Weaknesses:
-It is hard to get one-on-one time together and when we do sometimes I am so tired it is hard to take proper advantage of it.

Friends/connections: Score 3
Strengths:
-I am getting out and trying to meet moms in Coquitlam.
-I am still actively close with one girlfriend.
Weaknesses:
-I have acquaintances in Coquitlam but not friends.
-It’s hard to find energy/time to get into Vancouver to see my friends.

Motivation/energy/inspiration(spirituality): Score 6
Strengths:
-Before I would feel I had to do lots of different hobbies but actually allowing myself to just focusing on one (writing) has felt really great and has increased my motivation.
Weaknesses:
-Lack of sleep means it is difficult to be motivated. It becomes the battle of sleep or write…and sleep often wins out.

Exercise/healthy living: Score 7
Strengths:
-I’ve been working out for sure twice a week and going on extensive walks at least twice a week.
Weaknesses:
-I still binge snack in the evenings and “need” that little something sweet at night.
-Ice-cream (especially Blizzards), chocolate, potato chips, Smartpop, chocolate pudding…

Finances: Score 5
Strengths:
-We’ve both been students so we know how to live frugally while on mat leave pay.
Weaknesses:
-We don’t like living frugally

Work: Score 9
Strengths:
-Right now work is being a homemaker and I feel really on top of it currently. The house is not a total dive (usually), there are nutritious-ish meals every day, and I make time to play and go on adventures with my kids every day.
Weaknesses:
-The detailed aspects of housecleaning aren’t really happening (i.e. dusting and deep cleaning) but care factor is also low.

Me time/professional development: Score 4
Strengths:
-I’ve been led to some neat resources so far this year (Poem-a-day challenge blog, word press on-line course, critique group, useful books)
Weaknesses:
-More sleep is needed to have more focus and less inclination to just fall on the couch in front of the TV once kids are in bed.

Goals:
1) Get Toddler book out of the library and make time to read it.
2) Set up a Sunday dinner with friends in Van once every two months.
3) Proper date night with J (with wine and conversation) at least every two weeks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Slice(s) of Life

  1. Elaan says:

    That’s cool! Although I think you are being hard on yourself a little bit. 🙂 How did you come up with the score for each section?

  2. Thanks for point that out, Elaan. It’s a 10 point score. 1 is an area in desperate need of improvement and 10 is an area of strength.

  3. Elaine says:

    This is SUCH a great exercise for reflecting on where things are at with life… and how to adjust goals accordingly. Thanks so much for sharing!

  4. danyel123 says:

    What an awesome idea! I might have to steal that one…

  5. Donna says:

    I like this. It’s been a long time since I read The Artists’ Way, but this would be a good exercise to revisit. Hooray for getting your blog up!

  6. Arwyn says:

    This is definitely on my “to do” list. I think it must be a fascinating activity…I’ll get back to you when I make it a “me break”!

  7. Arwyn says:

    I did it. I pulled myself away from Come Dine With Me, Canada, and thought through my Slices of Life. I had never done it befoe and I loved it. It was reassuring to know that although I scored myself lower in some areas at first, as I contemplared my strengths and weaknesses, I increased my scores. I now have three concrete goals. Thank you Ren, this was a much needed exercise for me!

  8. It is a great activity. I’m so glad you found the time for your “me break”!

  9. Pingback: Me time and Wine Pie | keeping the me in mommy

  10. Holly says:

    Interesting idea.

Leave a Reply

