Creative Kids Moment: Colour Me Happy Water

Creative Kids Moment: Colour Me Happy Water

This is a really simple activity but kids of a range of ages love it.  I have done it with children in my care before and find it is best for the 3 to 5 years old range.  C, 2 years old, enjoyed it as a water activity regardless of what he got or didn’t from the colour mixing aspect and it was a switch up from normal water play.

Supplies:

  • Food colouring
  • Smaller containers that can be poured or squirted-the best ones are those picnic ketchup and mustard containers but I couldn’t find any so I just got clear ones so that he could see the colours inside
  • Larger containers for mixing and pouring into

Method:

2013 July 1081)    Set up the larger containers wherever you are going to allow your child to play with the water.

2)    Fill your smaller containers with water and add in a couple of drops of food colouring.  Keep food colouring even farther out of reach from your child than you think you need to (I thought I put them away far enough but C is so tall he got a hold of the vials.  Thankfully he couldn’t open them but it still gave me a heart attack!)

2013 July 1123)    For a younger child, I suggest doing the initial mixing with him or her to show how colours combine.  I talked with C about how we can make new colours and had him pour two colours in together.

4)    Free for all time.  After that I just let him go for it and enjoy the water.  It does quickly become murky (though he didn’t seem to care) which is why I do the little “lesson” to start.

 

Have fun and keep cool!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Creative Kids Moment: Colour Me Happy Water

  1. Salma says:

    Love this idea, I’m going to try it with the kids!

Leave a Reply

