Me Breaks: 10 Minute Writing Moments (Part III)

It’s time for the third instalment of my 10 minute writing exercise series.  In case you haven’t seen them before, this is where I share a writing exercise that I find can be at least started in a short time period.  I like to try to get in one writing period a weekday though that often depends on the nap fairy and may have to be taken in short instalments and not all at once!

Writing Activity #3:

Writing Exercises

At a recent trip to the library, I picked up Panning for Gold in the Kitchen Sink: Everyday Creative Writing by Michael Smith and Suzanne Greenberg.  In the book there are several dozen writing exercises that spring from basic things you do all the time and as such could be relevant to anyone regardless of their writing skills. One of the topics, for example, was travel baggage.  You brainstorm about things you have taken or forgotten to take on a trip.  Of course, there are many ways to interpret “baggage” from the literal to a more expansive definition.  Many of the topics offer that flexibility.  The exercises contain a jump off point, an example of what some other people have done with the idea, and also make suggestions on some things to consider when self-evaluating your writing.

I like that I can break down the exercises in each chapter and just do a brief writing session on one aspect of the topic.  Then, another day, I can flesh out my previous idea or brainstorm on a different angle of exploring the topic.  For me, it is not about producing an award winning short essay.  It is just an exercise to flex the writing muscles and to get my brain thinking about things with writer’s eyes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Me Breaks: 10 Minute Writing Moments (Part III)

  1. mona says:

    I really like the fact that you take writing so seriously… I can feel the dedication you have as you try to squeeze in even just 10 minutes, I think that’s absolutely amazing! You’ve inspired me to throw out my excuses for not writing!!! The ideas in the book you suggested are really creative! Amazing how simple little things can open the creative mind to more creativity. 🙂

Leave a Reply

