To Hold and To Cherish

Yes, Q has no socks.  She peels them off no matter what I do!  I just keep putting them back on:)

Yes, I know.  Q has no socks. Taking them off is a current favourite pastime.  Don’t worry, I keep trying and putting them back on:)

I have been approached numerous times lately by older people – in the park, in the grocery store, on the street.  The conversation has run much the same.  They coo over the babies and tell me about their sons and daughters.  I learn the names of their children, their ages now, occupations, and often an embarrassing tidbit from their youth.  They all end the conversation the same too.  “These are the best years of your life,” they tell me.  “Enjoy them.”  For all my complaints about sleepless nights (Q only recently stopped getting up every 2-3 hours) and terrible two tantrums, I agree with them that these early years are a wonderful time.

With this beautiful fall weather we’ve been enjoying, I‘ve been taking the kids on lots of walks down to our local favourite park.  It has a little lake in it that is ringed with trees and home to ducks, geese, fish, turtles, and a beaver.  C brings his little wagon (because that wagon is a constant sidekick) and fills it with rocks, leaves, more rocks, pinecones, and the like.  Q smiles at people with her two little teeth and invites cooing and conversation (all while peeling off her socks repeatedly).  My favourite moment on our last walk was C crunching through leaves and marvelling at the sound they made.  Then scooping them up and chucking them over his head so they’d fall all around him.  It was one of those moments in which you feel life pause-a held breath.  In that moment, I was entirely happy and content.  I was complete.

C is growing fast and is actually pretty independent already.  I often think about him getting even bigger and how that will change our relationship.  There will come a day when he doesn’t want to hold my hand anymore – how I will miss that precious, soft, dimpled hand slipping into mine.  He will eventually get too big to cuddle, he won’t request “Hug pees”  (Hug please) several times a day, and I won’t be able to pick him up and hold him in my arms as I sing to him before nap.  So for all my grumbles, these are great days and I do cherish them.  I am thankful beyond words for my smart, funny, beautiful children and for their amazing father with whom I am sharing this journey.

Later in life, I have no doubt that I will become that older person.  I will be that lady that goes up to babies in public to coo over them and to encourage parents to recognise their blessings – sleepless nights and all:)

What’s a favourite moment you’ve had with kids?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to To Hold and To Cherish

  1. Susan Nash says:

    One of my favorite moments with my boys was their first real Halloween Trick or Treat Night. Aside from being totally excited about getting dressed up, they just could not believe you could go door to door and get candy!! Another of my favorite moments was watching you go off to Douglas Park with my boys. They would wave all the way down the street! They were always so happy to be going off on an adventure with you….. xoxo

  2. Lovely post – I can hear those leaves crunching! One of my favourite recent memories is listening to my daughter make up a song and hearing phrases and words I have said to her mixed in. Luckily it was more of “exceeeellllent” snd “faaantastic” versus “ugh, I HATE you Internet.”

  3. Brianna says:

    I have to say, it must have been on Sunday, when my little one said thank you to someone other than us, without being prompted at all. How perfect it was that he said it in REAL thanks to someone going out of their way to make us feel welcome in their home on thanksgiving. I almost cried. My husband and I looked at each other in astonishment and we could see exactly what the other was thinking, “We’re definitely doing something right with this little man!”

  4. My favourite thing is going into their rooms to check on them before I go to sleep and putting their little blankets on them.
    I can definitely relate, I have a 16 and 32 month old. It has been a tough couple years but now I am entering a really fun and enjoyable stage.

  5. shaunna13 says:

    My boys are 2 and 4 my favorite time with them is first thing in the morning and our cuddles. Its those moments when all is perfect in the world ❤

  6. hvanmil says:

    So sweet! My youngest is 7 months old and in the last 2 weeks she has mastered an astonishing amount of developmental milestones. My personal favorite being she said “mama” with intent and understanding!! Her first word 🙂

  7. Salma says:

    I totally think about that all the time, that they won’t want my hugs and kisses all the time and that i won’t be their favorite person anymore. It stresses me out at times so you and the elderly people are right, despite the exhaustion, these are the best moments!

  8. Brandee says:

    Such a lovely post. My son just turned 5 and I find that I really cherish our walks to and from school. He still holds my hand and we chat and check out the wonders of snails, and leaves and puddles. I know that the day is rapidly approaching where he won’t want to do that, or hug and kiss me when other people are around, so I savor every second now.

Leave a Reply

