Painting Project: September Serendipity Painting

I am finally getting to the promised post about the method behind my September Serendipity painting. As I have mentioned before, I really like Juliette Crane’s playful style (see her stuff here if you’re interested http://www.juliettecrane.com/blog/). In the on-line lessons, she shows how she works through creating a painting. What is especially great about this, besides the tips on technique, methods, and art materials, is that she shows how she goes through the ugly stages or the “this isn’t working” stages and pushes through. It is very inspirational (and comforting) to see a person who paints for a living also struggles with these issues.
Painted pages lay outFor our first lesson she shared a strategy she uses to loosen up and get material for her paintings. She calls them painted pages. I forgot to photograph mine for this painting but they are basically lines and blobs of paint randomly added to paper. Then you finish up by adding doodling accents just to have fun with it.

Next you rip up your painted page and glue pieces you like onto your canvas to be the base for your background.

LayeringNext step: layering paint and tissue paper to build your background.

Adding faceFor faces, Juliette recommends using two circles. First you lay down a circle of tissue paper and then you lay down a circle of paper. She suggests using something with text or music sheets. I chose music sheets.

Her lessons on painting a face are VERY different from what I actually did. I love what she does with her faces but I haven’t been able to do it. It’s something for me to work towards.

The end result isn’t what I envisioned in my head at all but the process was fun.

Serendipity Sept paintingI don’t like the wings. I tried redoing them numerous times but just couldn’t make them work. I don’t like the face but at one point you have to say done or you’ll never move on to something else.

I like the playfulness of the hair and the tutu. I am really proud of how my colour blending in my background turned out. All in all, I played and I painted so I am happy with my endeavour:)

This entry was posted in Painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

