Reflective Resolutions

Recently there was a program on CBC radio that talked about first imagining what you want your life to look like before making resolutions.  So here’s what I came up with for a vision for my life:

I want to have an active and creative life that involves quality mommy time, family time, and friend time.

So I separated those ideas and listed goals to achieve them under each heading.  I tried to include specific goals to help me have a clearer vision of what achieving them would be in my book (i.e.-instead of making a goal to swim more as a family, I specified aiming for swimming twice a month).

1)      Active life

  • Sign up for a tot and parent sport class
  • Go swimming as a family twice a month
  • Exercise three times a week personally
  • Appreciate my body out loud and in front of kids for its attributes (i.e.-I like that my legs are strong so I can run after you, etc).  This goal is to show how my body helps me be active but also to encourage positive body image.

2)      Creative life

  • Painting date night with J once a month
  • Painting project with C and Q at least once a month
  • Craft project with C and Q at least once a month
  • Make time for Mommy time goals

3)      Mommy time

  • Make writing 10-20 minutes a day a priority
  • Plan with J for two 3 hour stretches to paint a month (sans bebes!)
  • Once a week make an entry in my visual journal
  • Blog at least twice a week

4)      Family time

  • Have a date night with J twice a month (at home dates count)
  • Remember to actively play with the kids every day, specifically child led play (take off the teacher hat, Ren!)
  • Go to the aquarium once a month until membership runs out

5)      Friend time

  • Have an outing with friends at least once a month (besides book club meetings)

So there are my resolutions.  Would love to hear yours and how you decide on what goals to aim for.

Happy New Year’s all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflective Resolutions

  1. lula avila says:

    Sounds like a nice plan, hope you can manage to archive it all, happy year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

