Mine, mine, mine!

My son currently loves the movie Nemo.  His favourite part involves the turtles.  My favourite part is the seagulls who cry “Mine, mine, mine!”  It cracks me up because it is exactly what I’m hearing at my house!

It doesn’t seem to matter if it involves a toy C isn’t even playing with or might not even like, lately if Q wants it, C goes into Mine mode.

A friend of mine told me about this poem that made her laugh because it was so true.  It is indeed!  Here it is:

Toddler Rules

If I like it, it’s mine.

If it’s in my hand, it’s mine.

If I can take it from you, it’s mine.

If I had it a little while ago, it’s mine.

If it’s mine, it must never appear to be yours in any way.

If I’m doing or building something, all the pieces are mine.

If it looks just like mine, it’s mine.

If I saw it first, it’s mine.

If I give it to you and change my mind later, it’s mine.

If you are playing with something and put it down, it automatically becomes mine.

If it’s broken, it’s yours.

(Author: unknown)

I know this is a stage and it will improve.  Still, I got to try, any tips on encouraging sharing out there?

This entry was posted in Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mine, mine, mine!

  1. Susan Nash says:

    Sharing is a universal challenge and it doesn’t necessary stop when one “grows up”!! I cannot remember what techniques we used for Z and S? Maybe if there is something that C doesn’t want to share with Q, then it has to be kept in his room…. Good Luck!

  2. Susan Nash says:

    Oops, typo! “Necessarily”

  3. Stella says:

    We have a trading rule that is trying at times to enforce, lol. If he takes from his sister, he has to give it back or time out. After he gives it back, i try to help him find a toy to trade sis with. I try to reprimand the younger one when she takes toys from him. We’ve been at it for about 3 months now and i would say they are doing quite well. When he is playing with something but also want the toy sis has, he gets to pick one only, sis gets other. It generally works out since sis always wants to play with brother’s toys.

    When it comes to sharing toys ds is already playing with, i try to explain to him that sis is very sad that she doesn’t get to play, and that it’ll be more fun if we can all play together. It’s a hit or miss. If it’s a miss, i take sis and find other toys for her.

  4. Salma says:

    Love the poem 🙂 I don’t force them to share but I do have a rule that we can’t take something out of someone else’s hand, regardless of who’s it is. And sometimes I enforce ‘taking turns’ not sharing.

Leave a Reply

