Quick Quinoa Lunch

Due to time restraints, I haven’t been making the wisest food choices the past few months.  However, as the pants have been getting tighter I have been trying to eat healthier, especially fewer empty carb foods.  Quinoa is a current “hot” food and while I don’t follow food trends too closely, as a vegetarian, I like the idea of a grain (well, it’s actually a seed but that starts to get into semantics) that has a higher protein content.  I don’t find it fills me up for long though so I often pair it with beans to add more substance.

Which brings us to one of my current favourite quick and easy lunch ideas.  This is a lunch for me, not for the kids, though for those of you who don’t have a one year old who loves the drop-it-on-the-floor game, it could totally be kid friendly.  Personally I have not felt up to quinoa, one of the smallest grains on earth, all over my floor and ground into my socks:)

The core part of the recipe is to cook the quinoa as instructed on the box but with vegetarian broth instead of just water.  Throw in a can of black beans and of corn and you could call it a day. 

Time and energy permitting, however, I like to saute some onion, garlic, and peppers to mix in with it.  Then I add 2 tsp of cumin and 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper.  Cilantro is also nice to add to the mix.  Often I wrap it with a tortilla.  But, really, take any veg you like, add a spice you like, and voila!  Lunch catered to your tastes and full of nutrition.

If you come up with a variation that is especially delicious, I’d love to hear your alterations.

This entry was posted in Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick Quinoa Lunch

  1. Cath Hay says:

    I love this lunch idea! Super healthy veggie meals are not always so fast and easy.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

