Creative Kids Moment: Colour Bugs-Yellow

For a yellow bug we made a bee, I’m sure there’s no surprise there.  C had a lot of fun with this one and I love the way the wings turned out.

Bee 1Here are the materials we started out with: a paper plate painted yellow, two googly eyes, three black pipe cleaners cut in half, some contact paper that we folded in half after covering it with torn bits of tissue paper (this will be the wings), glue, and from black construction paper I had cut out three long strips, a circle with some antennae, and a stinger.

Bee 3To start off C used a paintbrush to glue the head and stinger onto the back of the plate.  Then we flipped the bee over and glued on the eyes and the strips of paper.  We put a sheet of wax paper beneath our bee to try to keep the glue and the bug from sticking to everything (it worked pretty well).  I didn’t trim the strips till after C glued them on so that he would be able to do it without me trying to make sure the strips “fit”.

Bee 5After the glue for the strips was a bit dry, we added on the wings.  I cut the contact paper down so it looked a bit like the top of a heart.  Then we flipped the bee over again to glue on the legs.  Like the last two times, after the glue dried, I taped the legs down to reinforce them.

And bee makes threeI think our wall is filling up quite nicely!

Here are a few cute bee books:

The Very Greedy Bee by Steve Smallman (about a bee who doesn’t like to share – important message at our house:)

The Happy Bee by Ian Beck (very simple language and nice bright pictures – really geared to toddlers)

The Bee Tree by Patricia Polacco (a more involved funny story about villagers chasing bees to a bee tree)

And of course, to bee totally in the spirit of the craft, play the “Flight of the Bumblebee” by Rimsky Korsakov in the background!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Creative Kids Moment: Colour Bugs-Yellow

  1. Allison says:

    Cute, this might be a good project for us today!

  2. Joanna says:

    Those are cute, looks simple to do with a toddler.. I hope to do more crafts with my 4yo, but my 18 mo has other plans, like eating all of the crafting supplies, sigh… soon!

  3. I. Love. This. I’ve been meaning to get googly eyes for a while now and keep forgetting. I have so many plates, pipe cleaners, toilet rolls and egg cartons, but no eyes.

  4. hvanmil says:

    This is awesome! Has inspired me to do more crafting with the kidlets – we have an overstocked, underused art cubby calling my name!

  5. Bonnie Way says:

    These are super cute! My girls would love making these. Thanks for sharing!!! I need to grab some plates for crafts but we have everything else. 🙂

Leave a Reply

