Happy Belated Birthday Ezra Jack Keats!

I’ve  already mentioned my love for books by Eric Carle.  Last month (March 11th) was the birthday of another favourite author: Ezra Jack Keats.

Apt 3Ezra Jack Keats’ stories are simple and often hold a message.  Apt. 3, for example, is about two boys searching their apartment building for the source of some music they can hear.  On their quest, they meet a neighbour who is blind yet they learn how much he can see nonetheless.

Snowy DayGoggles

Peter's ChairSome other favourite classics are The Snowy Day, Goggles, and Peter’s Chair.

Peter’s Chair is a good one for showing how an older sibling may struggle with the adjustment of no longer being the baby.

I love Keats’ stories but even more I love his illustrations.  Although I enjoy the art of all his books, those in Apt. 3 are definitely my favourite.  The textures and the colours he uses have depth and hold truth to life.  He is an artist that inspires me.

Do you have a favourite Ezra Jack Keats book?

This entry was posted in Parenting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Belated Birthday Ezra Jack Keats!

  1. I look at children’s books a whole new way than before I had kids. I’ll be on the look out for one of these next time we’re at the library.

  2. Bonnie Way says:

    I’ve actually never heard of this author! The books sound cool though. 🙂 Thanks for sharing – I’ll have to look for them at the library too. 🙂

  3. salmadinani says:

    I’ve never heard of Ezra Jack Keats but his books look wonderful! We will have to check them out next time we are at the library. Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

  4. Heather says:

    Have never heard of this author but will definitely have to check him out, looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

