Creative Kids: Shaker Eggs

Have left over plastic eggs from Easter?  I was wondering what to do with ours until I remembered an egg shaped shaker C was given (and loved) when he was a baby.  I have no clue what happened to the original one but I thought it would be fun to make ourselves a dozen to add to our “house” corner.

Egg shakers

 

Egg shaker prepTo begin I added a scoop of rice.  I experimented with how much rice – sometimes very little, sometimes about half full.  In the end, it didn’t really seem to make much of a difference.

Then I had C paint the eggs with glue and put squares of tissue paper on top.  We did a different colour tissue paper for each egg – including solid colour, patterned, and sparkly tissue paper.  They all ended up cute!

We did two layers of tissue.  You need to let it dry between layers.  If the last layer ends up a bit bumpy, paint it over with mod podge to give it a smoother finish.

They have been played with roughly, including being thrown, and so far have stood up great.  Q and C have been loving to shake them to music and to put them in containers.  I also numbered the eggs from 1 to 12 to add another dynamic as C’s loving counting right now, so anything with numbers is better:).

Put your shaker eggs in an egg carton to complete the look.  And then take them out and shake it, baby!

Carton of Egg Shakers

This entry was posted in Creative Kids, Kid Activities, Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Creative Kids: Shaker Eggs

  1. Megan @ Food & Whine says:

    I love this idea!! I need all the ideas I can get to keep my boys occupied this summer. They’re already complaining that they’re bored.

  2. Heather says:

    I love the idea of painting with glue and tissue paper – so pretty! Reminded me I need to get my own post up on what we do with our left over easter eggs 🙂

  3. I’ll have to remember to share this come next Easter!

  4. salmadinani says:

    Great craft and love that idea of adding numbers. Pinning it!

  5. Roya says:

    What a cute way to dress eggs:)

Leave a Reply

