My Worthy Thirties

Long neck self portrait

Long neck self portrait

I’ve come to an age where when people ask me how old I am, I pause.  I often honestly have to think to remember.  My impulse response is to say 26 because that is about how old I feel (though without the 20s angst).  Over the years my concept of age has definitely changed.  I remember as a teenager how 26 seemed so old!  Now it seems quite the opposite.  It seems nubile.  And while 26 used to seem old, now I know young and dynamic forty, fifty, and up year olds.

I was recently consoling a relative who was about to join the 30s club.  In verbalising what my 30s have meant to me, I realised even more for myself how great they have been.  While there have definitely been some periods of struggle, in general my 30s have been a period of being more grounded, clearer on who I am and what I want, and a period of greater general calm within myself.

For all my childhood, my grandmother laid claim to 39 years old-not a day older.  While she was mostly joking, there was also a part of her that didn’t allow herself to lay full claim, with pride, to how far she had come – to lay full claim to her achievements and growth that had come with her years.  So I am going to try a different tact.  I will claim my years with pride…I am 38 years old today.  Woo-hoo!

However, the real test, I suppose, will be in two years.  Will I claim my age still once I cross the 39 line myself?  Only time will tell:)

This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Worthy Thirties

  1. jacandjuli says:

    Did you ever see that ecard that was going around a while ago? It said: “I’m 30, but I feel like I’m 20. Until I hang out with a bunch of 20-year-olds, then I’m like, nope never mind, I’m 30.” I’m hoping I feel the same way about 30-year-olds when I’m 40! Also, happy birthday!

  2. salmadinani says:

    Happy Birthday Renata! I remember feeling the same way, thinking being in my 20’s i’d be so old, but now in my late 30’s I know it’s not. I like who I am know, I’m more confident, happy and on a good path 🙂

  3. Tami says:

    Happy birthday!! That was beautiful😃

  4. I remember my mum telling me a story about how she never felt any older than 23, the age at which she married at. I’m going to be 35 next week and I am graciously welcoming mid 30’s. Each year means something to me and I hope that as I get older I don’t change my tune.

  5. On my 26th birthday I was sitting on a surfboard in the beautiful blue waters of Nicaragua complaining to a fellow traveler that I was getting old. He told me his opinion: If every year that passes is better than the last, getting old is pretty darn awesome. I then looked out at that ocean in front of me and knew he was oh so right. Next week I will turn 33 and yes, every year is better than the last. Life is beautiful. We are blessed to get older. Happy birthday!

  6. Cath Hay says:

    Happy Birthday!!! Enjoy the last couple of years of your 30s and look forward to turning 40! As you say so sagely, embrace your accomplishments and celebrate your growth as a woman. You are extraordinary!!

  7. I’m about to turn 30 and the closer I get to the time, the better I feel about it. I’ve been thinking about the confidence I have and how I’ve become a better person over time.

Leave a Reply

