Inspired by Inspiration Wednesdays

Inspiration Wed 5

I think I have found the creative class for me!  I signed up for Donna Downey’s Inspiration Wednesdays.  Although I enjoyed Juliette Crane’s Serendipity course last year, I wanted something that was even more experiment based and that didn’t involve characters so much.

For this class, Donna posts a video of her playing around with supplies and ideas every second week.  She makes her creations in handmade art books that have fabric covers holding paper with little insert cards in between.  She sells such books on her website.  They were neat and cute but I was cheap and was just going to use a normal drawing book.  However, my dear creative (and talented) mum, who is also taking the class, made us books.  Below is the one she made for me.  Isn’t it awesome?!

Inspiration Wednesday

For the first Inspiration Wednesday installment, among the many materials involved, the instructor (Donna) used modelling paste and acrylic glaze.  Acrylic glaze was fun but modelling paste was fabulous – new favourite artist supply!

To start she used modelling paste to form the word Artist down the side of her page.  For mine I decided to use my word for 2015: Create.  Then she used the paste again to form 2015 and eyeglasses (which I think is her trademark) on her insert card.  I too made 2015 and then I used cardboard to make my artistic trademark: a wren.

The next step was to mix acrylic paint and acrylic gaze.  You paint that mix on your page, wait one minute, and then wipe it off with a baby wipe.  Then you do the same again but with a different colour.

Inspiration Wed 3

Next Donna stamped a phrase on her page and used a stamp to brush ink along the edges of the pages.  Last she date stamped a little brown tag and stapled it on.

Inspiration Wed 4
I followed similar steps but instead of stamping a phrase on, I typed up a couple of quotes that are really speaking to me lately and used them.

“To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.” -Joseph Chilton Pearce

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.  Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.  It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.  We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous?  Actually, who are you not to be?  You are a child of God.  Your playing small does not serve the world.  There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people will not feel insecure around you.  We are all meant to shine, as children do.  We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.  It is not just in some of us; it is in everyone and as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give others permission to do the same.  As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” – Marianne Williamson

Below are some detail shots of my first Inspiration Wednesday collage:Detail Collage II

Detail collage

Instead of little brown tags, I found these round ones that I really liked.  Each of our creations is supposed to have a date record.  Hopefully, I’ll keep up and this will be just the first of 25 date stamped creations I’ll have in this book by the end of the year!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Me Breaks, Painting, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspired by Inspiration Wednesdays

  1. ailene says:

    I have to say you put so much more effort into this first class than i did. And it shows! Love the way the wren’s tale extends over the edge of the flap.

Leave a Reply

