3 Things Thursday: More Handy Than I Knew

Image result for painter's tape

I rented for a LONG time which had its perks when there was a problem or something that needed to be fixed because you just called up and requested someone else to do it.  When you own, however, it all comes down to you.  I’ve never thought of myself as a handy person but I since home owning an older home, I have recently been rather impressed to learn that I am more handy than I knew.

Here are 3 things I am surprisingly fairly handy at:

1) Painting.  I am good at painting rooms and it is not as hard as I expected.  Taping the edges and trim is a whole other story but the actual painting is not so bad and I do it well.

2) Caulking.  Again, wow what a difference it makes in giving a professional finish feel.  And it really is simple.  (Of course, it also involves my new least favourite task – taping – to make the edges look nice but damn, does it look nice after all is said and done.)

3) Re-vamping furniture.  My recent cheap Craig’s list wardrobe revamp turned out great.  I learned how to fill cracks in wood, match a stain to a previous stain, and that varnish is clear (who knew?).  My finished piece looks fabulous and worth way more than I paid for it.

So basically, in truth, this post is actually a “3 Things I’m Kind of Impressed with Myself About” but hey, you got to give yourself credit once in a while where credit is due:)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3 Things Thursday: More Handy Than I Knew

  1. salmadinani says:

    I’m very impressed too! And I’d love to see a before and after of the wardrobe revamp. Glad to have you linking up and have a great long weekend!

  2. Pink Chai says:

    Good for you! I used to think I wasn’t handy either, but once I started fixing up my place I started feeling empowered to try more projects.

    Thanks for joining the link up!

Leave a Reply

