Brief Artistic Moments: What if you fly?

Flower power

With three children four-years-old and under, there isn’t a lot of time to create.  Mostly time is spent just mommy-ing.  However, as much as I love mommy-ing, I try to carve out a bit of creative time weekly even in these early newborn days (Baby M is already now 2 1/2 months old!).  I don’t have time to pull out lots of supplies so I’ve been mostly working in my drawing book when inspiration strikes.

One new artist I’ve discovered is Jodi Ohl (http://www.sweetrepeats.blogspot.ca/).  Her style is whimsical, colourful, and full of spirit.  I like making art for my kids and this piece of hers below inspired me to try my hand creating my something above in what I hope was a similar vein:

Ohl-yourtimeisnowfullcrop[1]

In my drawing, I included the Erin Hanson quote: “What if I fall? Oh but darling, what if you fly?” which I find a lovely sentiment.  Her piece has much more depth and layering.  Mine was done in a morning in stolen 10 minute length moments (and using my kids’ dollar store watercolours set) and has a much more basic, concrete style but it would be a fun piece to do on canvas as a mixed media piece down the road.  Texture would add such a dynamic slant to the work.

Oh, one day when there is more time…and more sleep:)

This entry was posted in Kids Decor, Me Breaks, Painting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brief Artistic Moments: What if you fly?

  1. Arwyn says:

    Your dedication to creativity inspires me! I have even started a very humble art journal. I am planning to do one with the grade 5s across the hall as a way to keep me working on mine and to explore art alongside them. Thank you for your inspiration and beautiful art!

  2. I love the idea of doing an art journal with a class. What a great way to keep on with creativity! I’m sure you will inspire and be inspired in return:)

  3. salmadinani says:

    Wow, I can’t believe it’s already been 2.5 months! That’s so amazing that your are still trying to keep the Me in Mommy!

Leave a Reply

