Creative Life Project: April

April Title.jpg

I love poetry so I am very excited to spend April indulging in poetic pursuits. Each week I am going to choose a poet to read.  The poets I will be choosing will all be Canadian because home base seemed like a good place to start. I haven’t finalized who will make the list each week yet but Lorna Crozier, Michael Ondaatje, and Joy Kogawa are long standing faves of mine so there is a good chance one or all will make the cut:)  Also I am curious about spoken word poetry.  I’ve heard to check out Sabrina Benaim and Shane Koyczan’s poetry so we’ll see who I can find and who grabs my interest…

Monthly goals:
Remember birthdays.

Organize my previously written poetry. I’m going to try separating pieces I have previously written into three sections: 1) Finished Poems, 2) Poems in Progress, and 3) Poetic Snippets.  Hopefully I find my writing box sooner rather than later while unpacking…

Daily/weekly goals:
Do one creative thing daily. Minimum of 15 minutes drawing, writing, experimenting.

Keep a one sentence journal and affirmation book.

Go to bed at a reasonable hour.

Exercise three times per week doing exercises I enjoy.

Write a quick poem daily. Use internet site prompts or make my own. Robert Lee Brewer hosts a Poem A Day (PAD) challenge on his blog in April hence the choice of this month for a poetry focus.  I’ve done this before and literally put aside ten to fifteen minutes to write something from the prompt.  I’m not aiming for a polished piece.  It’s just about getting my brain in a poetic frame of mind.

Focus on a poet a week. Read a poetry book by a different poet each week. TBA on the official line up when I get a chance to go to a library or bookstore this week:)

It will be interesting to see how moving in to our new place next week impacts how this month goes creatively.  Trying to keep being creative a priority regardless of other life events is tricky for sure, but I do find carving out that creative me time means a more grounded, happy mama.  Fingers crossed…

 

This entry was posted in Me Breaks, The Creative Life Project, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creative Life Project: April

  1. New to your blog so sorry if this is a silly question, but…Is it horribly cliché to suggest Margaret Atwood to your list? I am a die-hard, but have learned over the years that she’s a bit like cilantro: people either love her or hate her. 🙂

    Also. As a writer, my stepmother swears by “small stones”. I recommend giving it a quick google. Seems like something you might enjoy!

  2. Margaret Atwood is never cliche:) There are just other poets I like better but I still enjoy her poetry and I have really enjoyed several of her novels. Also I checked out “small stones”, I love the idea of them. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

