Poet of the Week: Lorna Crozier

Wasp pic

“Stars are wasps dipped in silver./They chew holes in the darkness/to build their paper nests.” Lorna Crozier Apocrypha of Light p. 14

One really big reason I am drawn to poetry (and this is often especially true for the poets I most enjoy reading) is because I am a word geek.  There, I’ve confessed it.  I love learning new words and seeing how words add to the complexity of a poem under its surface.

My poet this week, Lorna Crozier, is a great example of a poet who indulges this interest.  For example, between pages 3 and 5 alone of her book Apocrypha of Light are these three words: apocrypha, beatitude, and withers.  Of course, I had to look them all up.

apocrypha: biblical or related writings not forming part of the accepted canon of Scripture; writings or reports not considered genuine.

beatitude: a state of utmost bliss; any of the declarations made in the Sermon on the Mount (Matthew 5:3–11) beginning in the Authorized Version “Blessed are”.

withers: the ridge between the shoulder blades of an animal, typically a quadruped.

Huh, who knew.

Another reason is I am drawn to poetry is because poetry fuels my imagination.  Where else can you find sentences referring to snow “going from nowhere to nowhere light-footed on the smallest, coldest stars” (11) and to gophers and how they hear “what rain says underground” (13).  The quote below the wasp drawing inspired the sketch.  I really wanted to make the wasps silver but I haven’t found the box with my silver sharpe yet.

So basically, poetry allows me to seem cultured while all the while really just indulging my delight in flights of fancy.

This entry was posted in Adult Books, The Creative Life Project, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

