Creative Life Project: May’s Progress

Image-1

Do you really need to be creative or do you need to rub my belly?

The plan this month was to focus on picture books (PBs). And once we got over Q’s surgery, her recoup period, M’s four new teeth, pink eye for all the kids, fever for two of them, and then mommy’s recoup time (catching up on desperately lacking sleep) – it definitely was worked towards.

One of the things that fell by the wayside was my goal checklist that tracks how I did on a daily basis.  So I have more general reflections on my goals this month than actual data (yeah, usually I have percentages…)

Monthly goals:
Remember birthdays. Check!  Almost all the cards were late, but we got them out (it took me a long time to finish unpacking the kids art supplies but now it’s all accessible-yay!)

Daily/weekly goals:
Do one creative thing daily. Partial-check.  Since I don’t have my checklist filled in, all I can say is everyday that it was possible to do something creative, I did it.  However, there were many days this month that I just got through and that’s okay too.
Keep a one sentence journal and affirmation book. Not doing this daily anymore.
Go to bed at a reasonable hour. Fail.  Don’t need a check list to know this was a dismal fail.  However, I’m getting better about getting into bed before 11 and totally notice better focus the following day, especially if none of the kids wakes up in the middle of the night.  I think there were about 3 nights where everyone slept through the night this month…three beautiful nights:)
Exercise three times per week doing exercises I enjoyMostly check.  As long as I count walking, I kept this goal.
Write one shitty PB draft per weekMostly check.  I had hoped to get four done this month but instead wrote three.  Still impressed with myself on this goal:)
Revise a previous story a week. Partial check.  Instead of four revised stories this month, I am coming away with two edited works.
Read 3 PBs from the library a week. Minimal.  I only got to three of my 12 books this month.  I had to prioritize somewhere and this is where I decided to drop the ball over other goals.  I’ll definitely be doing this another month or year though as I think it would help improve my story writing and my critiquing skills.

This past month sure didn’t go as I thought it would in terms of productivity but I enjoyed what I did get done.  So I’ll take it for what it was: a slightly chaotic month we did our best to get through and be creative where we could:)

This entry was posted in Children's Books, The Creative Life Project, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

