Artist of the Week: Chagall

Chagall

This week I read up on Marc Chagall and perused his paintings-not a bad way to pass time, to be honest.  Here are some things I learned about Chagall:

  • Chagall was a Russian-French Jewish artist who lived from 1887 to 1985 (what an interesting time period to be alive.  All the events and changes he saw and experienced!)
  • He was the eldest of nine children.  His father was a herring merchant and Chagall   painted fish in his paintings to represent him.
  • His work was influenced by Jewish folk history (I found this interesting because I’ve always been interested in folk art.  No wonder I’m so drawn to him!)

I’m no art critique but here are some observations I came away with:

  • Chagall was a fan of rich colours, especially blue, red, green, and yellow.  Though he often used a rainbow pallet in his paintings.
  • He sometimes painted in zones of colour, especially with blue.
  • He’s whimsical.  He had a cubist style at times, he played with colour (i.e. green faces).  Orientation, perspective, realism, gravity were all open to manipulation in his works.

After studying up on him, I set out to create a Chagall inspired piece of my own.  I thought about some symbols that are significant to me and started sketching them out.  I made two rough sketches before I sketched out my final design.  Then I printed a picture of it so I could “test” out some colours.

Colour Tester

It was like making  my own colouring page – quite fun.  I did the colour tester page in pencil crayon and it was a great exercise.  Although I liked most of my first instinct colours, there were some areas that didn’t work for me.  I switched the colours in those areas for the watercolour painted copy.  I had a lot of fun creating this piece.

Let’s see if I have as much fun with my Picasso study!

 

This entry was posted in Painting, The Creative Life Project, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Artist of the Week: Chagall

  1. salmadinani says:

    It’s interesting to read the history of Chagall. And I like how the painting turned out!

Leave a Reply

