Creative Life Project: July

July title


July: Take Risks and Create

I often go safe and try to create pretty things over challenging myself and taking artistic risks. Yet I’ve read many artists say that to get to the good stuff, you need to go through the bad stuff. Therefore, this month I am going to take risks and try abstract so I am not concerned with trying to create something specific. It will be the visual arts version of writing shitty drafts except this time it will be the freedom to create shitty pieces of art.  If that is what comes to pass, so be it.  My mantra this month is: Go for it.  Ugly is growth.

Monthly goals:
Remember birthdays.
Write in one sentence journal and affirmation book when moved to do so.

Daily/weekly goals:
Do one creative thing daily. Minimum of 15 minutes drawing, writing, experimenting.
Go to bed at a reasonable hour.
Exercise three times per week doing exercises I enjoy.
Create at least one art journal picture a week. Play. Get messy. Use your hands.
Week 1: Take a magazine picture or photo and paint or pastel it using only circles.
Week 2: Take a magazine picture or photo and paint or pastel it abstract style using bold colours.
Week 3: Turn words into images: pick a poem and illustrate it abstractly. Use lines, circles, and dots. Preferably minimal or no recognizable shapes of objects.  Perhaps collage it first and then paint it.
Week 4: Take an image and cut it up. Put it back together differently. Either paint the resulting image Picasso style (because that was so fun) or as an abstract.

It is my birthday month and I like it that I am starting off my 40s by challenging myself to take creative risks:)   Excited to see how the month will go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

