The Creative Life Project: September

Sept Title

I don’t have any local friends who like to dabble in arts and crafts like I do. I would love to find my artistic “tribe”.

In writing, I have my critique group who are my kindred spirits in that area of my life. They are not local (they are from all over America and one from Japan actually) but we’ve been together on-line for three years and have really bonded. I am so thankful for that group.

I also have my on-line book club for studying books on the craft of picture book writing.  They are a wealth of information and are always ready to answer any questions I could ever think up.  Even though my writing groups are based on-line, I found my community and feel connected.  It’s a great feeling.

I would love to have a similar community for my visual arts and would prefer it be with local people so we could get together and craft. My dream would be to host monthly creative arts nights – some people could scrapbook, others could paint, some could collage, maybe even someone could play an instrument (I know, I’m such a new age hippy.  Feel free to eye roll:)  This month I plan to send out some feelers for like minded people.

Monthly goals:
Remember birthdays.
Start a meet up group or set up a creative night through my mommy group. I want to meet up with other crafty people in my area. I’m going to keep it open to all sorts of creatives: scrapbooking, decoupage, mixed media arts, art journaling.  I’m thinking of calling it The Creative Club (I’m such a geek).  Not sure there’ll be the interest but it’s worth a shot, right?

Daily/weekly goals:
Do one creative thing daily. Minimum of 15 minutes drawing, writing, experimenting.
Get a minimum of seven and a half hours of sleep a night. I’m re-wording this goal as aiming for a certain amount of sleep is more realistic plan than going to bed early every night.
Exercise three times per week doing exercises I enjoy.
Visit at least two local studios in the month. Talk to the artists. Ask them about groups they belong to and what classes they run or attend.  If I can’t find local studios that peak my interest, I’ll at least try to connect on-line with a minimum of two local artists.

Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Me Breaks, The Creative Life Project, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

