Creative Life Project: September Review

img_8002

Detail pics of some recent sketches inspired by my Zen Painting course.

My goal for September was reaching out to my artistic “tribe”.  Although still a work in progress, it was such a good exercise to pursue this goal.  September was an interesting month in itself for me.  I felt on the brink of a new chapter of my life and was at a loss in figuring out balance. I wasn’t as creative as I would have liked in September as lost isn’t my best head space for creativity.  However, I am crawling out of the lost hole and climbing back up to a more balanced space.

Monthly goals:
Remember birthdays. Check
Start a meet up group or set up a creative mommy night. I sent out feelers in September but didn’t give enough advance notice.  So I tried again with more notice and our first meeting is next week.  Yay:)

Daily/weekly goals:
Do one creative thing daily. 80% check
Get a minimum of seven and a half hours of sleep a night. 63% check
Exercise three times per week doing exercises I enjoy. Check
Visit at least two local studios in the month. Talk to the artists. Ask them about groups they belong to and what classes they run or attend. Check.  I visited the 100 Braid Street Studios in Port Moody.  It is awesome.  It is a warehouse split into several studios.  The artists range in their focus from fabric arts, to acrylics and oils, to photography.  They have open artist nights where people come together and work on their individual projects.  I think I will attend one in November.  I couldn’t find many other studios locally but did find a couple local artists who have Etsy shops.  One example was Memory Blocks.  Given my recent creative love interest in wood, it isn’t surprising that they work with the material:)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

