Creative Life Project: January

jan-title

One of my fave pics I’ve painted and one of J’s least favourites.  Art is so subjective:)  It makes me feel calm.  I think that’s what I enjoy about it.

So far this balance thing has been interesting and hard to be honest.  I am extremely busy and yet also feeling extremely fulfilled – though there aren’t enough hours in the day.  One thing I am still trying to figure out is where down time fits into my life.  Is creative time my down time or is that its own space?  Not sure on that yet.

Just today I realized I never posted my January aims for The Creative Life Project 2017 (though I have been working on them – honest!).  So without further ado, here they are:

January: Preparation, Organization, and Creativity Jump Start

This month’s goals will help me enhance my creative space and time.  As well, they are to help me prepare the makings for a creative year.

Monthly goals:
Write in the kids’ baby books. Monthly update page for each kid. Include any milestones reached over the month, personality quirks, current passions/interests, and any cute quotes I can remember. I plan to continue this goal monthly.

Remember birthdays. I will continue to have my kids make cards to send out. I really liked the connection this goal fostered with extended family and the purpose it gave to some art endeavours with the kids.

Prepare a plan for a creative year. Break my goals down into month chunks to focus on different things and to start fresh each month. Even if some months are write offs, the next month will begin and I can feel invigorated to start anew.

Make a space that is easy to create in. Reorganize my art caddy and workspace. Again, if if it is easy to pull out creative supplies, I will be able to do art/write even in small amounts of time.

Make a life that is easy to create in. Clear out clutter. I find clutter distracting so it will help if it is minimized. How does clutter accumulate so quickly and where the heck to put it all?

Organize plans in lists and keep them all in one place. I have been in the process of creating a balance brainstorming book. I’ll keep a list of inspiration ideas for those days I’m not feeling so organically creative. Again, I will also list interests for future research, words I like, etc (ever the word geek:) These lists will be added to as ideas come up throughout the year.

Daily/weekly goals:
Do one creative thing daily. This idea is borrowed in part from The Happiness Project. A woman in the book said she did one thing toward her goal daily. One small thing a day is manageable and even if I only keep this goal half the time, I would maintain my creative engagement. This goal is going to continue each month for the year.

Get at least 7 hours of sleep a night. Once the kids are down, I’m so happy to have quiet me time that I often stay up later than I should. I pay for it in focus ability the next day.

Exercise three times a week. Easier said than done. Kind of like the 7 hours of sleep goal…  What can I say?  I’m ever optimistic!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

