Power of Now Reflections and February Review

picmonkey-collage

Zen sketch I am currently working on.  A little too realistic but I’m having fun with it.

Power of Now Reflections

For some reason, I feel great resistance while reading The Power of Now. His focus on living with constant “deep trouble” and “sadness” doesn’t resinate with me. However, my flat resistance to the book isn’t helping me access the underlying message so I’ve decided to instead focus on what he says that does resinate.

I know what he means when he talks of trees being more vivid in colour when you allow yourself to fully embrace their beauty. I never thought about it as being “fully in the now” but I can go with that frame of reference. For me, there are days the sky is so beautiful or a drop of rain on a leaf so enchanting my heart feels it might burst. And I love looking for colour within colour. I think of it as “artist training” but it’s when you look at a tree, for example, and see other colours within its browns and greens – such as purple in shadow or blue on the underside of a branch.

I especially appreciate his message about the importance of focusing on the current moment and being very present. This is something I have been trying to keep in the forefront of my mind lately especially when interacting with my kids. The message of being in the now here resonates with one of my favourite quotes by Gretchen Rubin: “The days are long but the years are short.”

There are days I feel I may lose my sanity in diapers, laundry, and sibling rivalry, but then I try to switch focus.  I focus on the little hand I am holding or the chubby arms thrown around my neck or the high pitched voice telling me all about his or her dreams. And in embracing that moment, the colours in the world do actually amp up a little and I try to train my brain to remember this interaction because this is what matters.  This is the Power of Now (for me).

***

As for my February goals, I didn’t paint as much as I would have liked this month but I do feel I was successful in being more mindful. I am especially proud in my efforts to be more mindful in my interactions with my kids. Life can get so busy that somedays I can let myself get wrapped up in the busyness and forget what is actually most worthy of my time. The Zen painting I did manage to do was very fun. I still have some projects in mind to complete with this technique.

Monthly goals:
Write in the kids’ baby books. -done
Remember birthdays. -done
Read The Power of Now. -most complete so far:)

Daily/weekly goals:
Do one creative thing daily. -only about 50% successful this month
Go at least seven hours of sleep a night. -mostly successful:)
Exercise three times a week. -only about 50% successful

This entry was posted in Painting, The Creative Life Project, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

